Skip to content

Research Grants
Publication Highlights
Department News
Alumni News
Alumni News

Message from the chair


Dear Alumni, Emeriti,
and Friends:


This month we celebrate the Class of 2018!   We are proud of their accomplishments and the accomplishments of our faculty, staff, and alumni.

We swept the CSBS Research Awards, with Liz Conradt winning in the junior category and Sarah Creem-Regehr winning in the senior category. Bert Uchino was honored by the Graduate School for his contributions to mentoring. Patricia Kerig was honored with the University's Distinguished Scholarly and Creative Research Award. Graduating senior Hannah Samowitz (advised by Monisha Pasupathi) was named the Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher in the college, while Kristina Oldroyd won the Skidmore Scholarship and Danielle Geerling, the Gustafson Scholarship.

At our departmental graduation ceremony earlier this month, I had the honor of presenting the Irwin Altman Outstanding Faculty Award to Dr. Craig Bryan for his contributions to research, training, and treatment dissemination to prevent suicides among members of our Armed Forces. Shortly after receiving this important recognition, Craig was awarded more than $3,000,000 from Boeing Company for a partnership between the National Center for Veterans Studies and the National Ability Center for the STRIVE initiative (Suicide & Trauma Reduction Initiative for Veterans). In addition to providing effective treatments to veterans free of cost, the new funding will support the training of 1000 mental health professionals in 11 states. Congratulations to Dr. Bryan and all members of the NCVS for this outstanding accomplishment and their continued efforts through research and advocacy to reduce suicide rates among our veterans.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Don Strassberg on his appointment to Professor Emeritus. We invited Dr. Strassberg to contribute to this issue and his comments may be found here.

 Congratulations, all!



Psychology Department Graduation 2018

This year there were 10 students receiving their Ph.D.s and 10 students granted their Master's degree.  There were also 7 undergraduate students who received the Psychology Honors degree.



Support Psychology!

You can contribute to psychology! Each year, we give out awards to students in honor of their accomplishments. Click here to learn more.

We'd love to hear from you!

We're always glad to hear updates from alumni, emeriti, and friends. If you'd like to be featured in our newsletter, please send your biography and a photo to Angela Newman (  See our Alumni News section.


Craig Bryan Receives the
Irwin Altman Outstanding Psychology Faculty Award

The Irwin Altman Outstanding Psychology Faculty Award has been established by his family and supported by the university to recognize a faculty member in the Department of Psychology who exemplifies the combined values of teaching/mentoring, research/scholarship and service that Irwin Altman demonstrated throughout his career

The 2018 winner of the award was Dr. Craig Bryan. His phenomenal record of scholarly accomplishments, generosity of time and service both locally and nationally, and his exceptional record of mentorship make him an ideal candidate for this award.



Donald Strassberg retires as an Emeritus Professor

After serving on the faculty of the Department of Psychology from 1975 through the present (43 years) Don is retiring.  Among his greatest contributions to the field and to the University have been his mentorship of extraordinarily successful graduate students.

Don has earned every major teaching award at the University of Utah, as well as teaching awards from major professional societies he belongs to.


Last Updated: 6/4/21